Tsepelovo is built on a slopes of mount Timfi or Gamilla, at an altitude of 1080m and is the largest village of Zagori. It is located in central Zagori, in the middle of the Vikos–Aoös National Park, 49 km from the city of Ioannina. Its traditional architecture, with stone-built houses and cobbled alleys in combination with the wild nature that surrounds it, enchants visitors, making Tsepelovo a tourist destination all year round.
The village was founded in the 16th century and from the 18th century onwards became the administrative center of Zagori. Tsepelovo flourished culturally and economically in the 18th and 19th centuries when the special privileges that the area of Zagori managed to have in combination with the migration of many of its inhabitants to countries where they were successfully engaged in trade, helped the economy of the village to grow. This had as a result, many schools, mansions, churches and stone bridges to be built.
The traditional stone architecture is visible in every building, in the village paths, houses and churches. The historical church of Agios Nikolaos was renovated at 1753 and decorated with unique wall paintings by exceptional painters of the nearby village of Kapesovo. From the old plane tree located in the village square start cobbled alleys that lead to the stone bridge of Konomos, Hatsios and Kovatsaina and to water springs of Vrysopoula and to the one next to school.
The village has been listed as a traditional settlement, with many of its buildings being preserved. It is also known for its three-day festival, which takes place in August and attracts people from all the nearby villages. Two kilometers away from the village, is the stone Monastery of Rogovo, dedicated to the memory of Agios Ioannis Prodromos. The village is the ideal starting point for excursions to the surrounding areas.