Μετάφραση

Agios Lavrentios

Agios Lavrentios is one of the best preserved and most beautiful villages of Pelion. It is amphitheatrically built, at an altitude of 600 meters on the slopes of the mountain, between the villages of Drakeia and Agios Georgios, 21 km from the city of Volos.

The village was named after the byzantine monastery of Agios Lavrentios, which was built by Roman Catholic Benedictine monks during the Crusades (11th century). The monastery was then abandoned to be rebuilt as Orthodox, by Agios Lavrentios, a monk who came to Pelion from the monastery of Great Lavra in Mount Athos. The reconstruction was completed in 1378 with the financial help of the Byzantine emperor Alexios Komnenos III. In its guest house, the monk Kassavetis signed the revolutionary proclamation for the liberation of Thessaly during the Greek Revolution in 1821. The monastery is located near the village and today operates as a nunnery.

At that time, people started to settle in the village, which flourished from the end of the 17th century until the middle of the 19th c. with the development of agriculture, handicrafts and trade. The residents increased over the years, and the cultivation and trade of olives, olive oil, and fruit brought prosperity to Agios Lavrentios.

Agios Lavrentios is a traditional Pelion village with great architectural interest. The village has a rich network of old cobblestone streets, restored mansions, old churches and marble fountains running fresh water. The church of Agios Dimitrios dating from 1730 stands in the picturesque square Hatzini. The square offers spectacular sea views of the Pagasitic Gulf. Around the square, traditional cafes of another era, serve tsipouro and local sweets under the cool plane trees. Among the main attractions is the chapel of Panagia Souravlou (dedicated to Zoodochos Pigi), as well as the church of Agios Athanasios, built in 1777. The village boasts its own saint, Saint Apostolos the New (1667-1686), a man who was born in the village and at a young age moved to Constantinople where he was beheaded on 16-8-1686, at the age of 19. A church has been built at the spot where the family house used to stand. Every year on August 15-16, many faithfuls visit the church to honor the Saint.

The residents are still engaged in agriculture, while tourism is also an important source of income. Significant events are organized in Agios Lavrentios every year such as the Cherry Festival, organized by the women of Agios Lavrentios every June. Towards the end of August and the beginning of September, the cycle of musical events "Music Village" is also held in the village.

The village is connected with beautiful paths with the nearby villages Drakeia and Chania. In Agios Lavrentios visitors can find a variety of inns and family hotels many of which are old renovated mansions. Agios Lavrentios is an ideal all year destination.

View
Bridge of Tsagarada Bridge of Tsagarada

Stone Bridges