info@allovergreece.com

Open Daily 9:00am-19:00pm

1. Gialos

The city of Symi consists of two listed villages, Ano Symi and Gialos, which is the port of the island. In the right side of Gialos, a clock tower, named Roloi, built in 1881, counts for the Symiots the time which runs quietly in Symi. In front of Roloi, Michalaki the little fisherman (made by Kostas Valsamis) welcomes the ships, yachts and the caiques. The bell-tower of Evangelistria looks like a true sentinel. The Police a remainder of the architecture from the years of the Italian Occupation. In Tzi, there is a copy of the triemolia carved into a rock of Acropolis of Lindus and an inscription written by the Dodecanesian Fotis Varelis for the 8th of May. The Dove of Freedom by Kostas Valsamis. The Nautical Museum of Symi with old maps, ship models and other exhibits from the maritime. It is open every daily from 10:00 to 15:00. The Cathedral of Timios Prodromos, which was built in 1830 and refurbished in 1869, with a marvelous pebbled yard.

2. Chorio (Ano Symi)

Chorio or otherwise known as Ano Symi, literally translates to Village in Greek. It is the main town of the island where most of the locals live. It starts exactly where Gialos ends, boasting a labyrinth of narrow streets designed to confuse sea pirates in days gone by and charming neoclassical houses with bright and vivid colors, often with spectacular views of the harbor and the coast of Asia Minor in the distance. The mansions reflect the island's rich past since Symi was once one of the richest islands with a tradition in sponge diving, ship building and wood carving.  Even though, it is not near Gialos, still maintains a vibrant lifestyle with bars, various restaurants and traditional tavernas, dotted around the main square. In this square, several cultural events take place every summer. Chorio retains an untouched charm and has a special vibe, making it one of those places worth visiting, even if you are not staying in the area.

Chorio is accessed upon climbing the 450 stone steps of the Kali Strata and offers a spectacular view as well as a sense of tranquility. The path is lined with two-storey, old, neoclassical mansions painted in warm colours and covered with tiled roofs. Much of the old town was damaged when the castle blew up in the Second World War, leaving behind some intriguing ruins. For many years it was largely abandoned by its people, though in recent years has seen some resurgence. Many old buildings have now been restored and serve as family hotels or residences.

At the top of the village, you can find the ruins of the ancient acropolis with the remains of the Castle of the Knights of St. John, inside which lies the church of the Virgin of the Castle ("Panagia tou Kastrou"). The acropolis dates back to antiquity, whereas the castle was built by the Venetians knights in the Medieval times. Those who make it to the site of the ancient acropolis are rewarded with 360’ views of the Turkish peninsula, Gialos harbor and Pedi Bay. Chorio also houses some interesting and cute churches, with some dating from the Byzantine era, like the church of Agios Georgios, the church of Metamorphosis and Panagia of Kastro where the visitor can admire the icon of the Day of Reckoning, painted by the most important post-Byzantine hagiographer Georgios Klonzas in the second half of the 16th century. There is also an archaeological museum, housed in a traditional mansion and the old municipal pharmacy which has been renovated and transformed into a municipal surgery. Wander through the cobbled pathways and admire the beautiful mansions and especially Hatziagapitos House from the 18th century and the windmills which are what is left of the 20 windmills, once operated on the island.

 

Protected Historical Monument - ΦΕΚ 881/Β/3-11-1971

3. Nimborio

The small settlement Nimborio (or Emborio), is considered as of one of the first  ports been used at Symi. It is the second natural port, after Gialos to the North and connected to it by road up tol a specific point. Then one can continue on foot. Nimborio is an ancient town of Symi where the king of Nireas used to live. The houses are built almost on the beach and many visitors do the walk from Charani up to Nimborio by foot.  In the village the church of Agia Irini has been declared a historical monument according to Government Gazette 286 / B / 16-5-1988.

Protected Historical Monument - ΦΕΚ 594/Δ/13-11-1978

4. Panormitis

The village of Panormitis is located 12 km south of Simi Town and apart from being quite picturesque, its single and unique characteristic makes it one of the most significant areas in Simi. This is the Monastery of Archangel Micheal Panormitis. The 18th century monastery is located on the seafront of the village and it can be seen from the ferries that usually deck on the mentioned harbour, offering one of the best sights. It is protected by an inlet that leads to a wide harbour and a small beach with fine sand that is usually empty. The Venetian style monastery has great artifacts, such as antique chandeliers, and an impressive silver icon of the Archangel, which is the patron saint of the island, as well as the protector of sailors. 

Protected Historical Monument - ΦΕΚ 594/Δ/13-11-1978