Prasonisi Lighthouse (Prasso)

Μετάφραση Greek Version

Prasonisi Lighthouse (Prasso)

Prasonisi Lighthouse, also known as Prasso Lighthouse, stands at Cape Prasonisi, the southernmost point of Rhodes. Built in 1890 by the French Company of Lighthouses, it became part of the Greek Lighthouse Network in 1947. During World War II, the lighthouse was extinguished and resumed operation after the war. It initially used acetylene as its light source before being converted to an oil-powered mechanism in 1952. Since 1986, it has operated automatically using solar energy.

The 11-metre-high stone tower stands at a focal height of 65 metres above sea level and emits four white flashes every 30 seconds, visible from a distance of up to 17 nautical miles. Beneath the tower is the former lighthouse keeper's residence, a modest stone building consisting of four bedrooms and a kitchen.

 

How to reach Prasonisi Lighthouse:

The lighthouse is accessible via a 3 km dirt track that starts near Prasonisi Beach. The walk takes around 30 minutes and is relatively easy, rewarding visitors with spectacular views of the rugged coastline and the endless blue of the Aegean Sea.

Visiting Prasonisi (Prasso) Lighthouse is well worth the effort. The dramatic cliffs, the abandoned lighthouse and the remote landscape create one of the most scenic viewpoints in southern Rhodes and offer excellent photo opportunities. On clear days, you can even enjoy views of Karpathos Island on the horizon.