Nikia is a mountainous, traditional village of Nisyros, built on the edge of the caldera, gazing at the Aegean on one side and the craters of the volcano on the other side. Because of the panoramic view of the crater that offers, it has become a tourist destination. Its main square, “Porta” as the locals call it, is one of the most impressive squares in the Aegean and one of the most photographed spots in Nisyros. That is where all the narrow streets of the village end. In the square there is a pebble of the local craftsman Paschalis Paschalakis, made in 1923. On one side of the square is the Church of the Assumption of Virgin Mary, the old school, the building of "Kazellaria" (town hall) and a neoclassical traditional coffee shop. The old school of 1856, functioned as a hostel and a pharmacy during World War II, while today houses the Volcanic Museum, the only museum of its kind in Greece. Worth visiting is also the Monastery of Agios Ioannis (St. John) which is celebrated on September 26 and the Monastery of Panagia (Virgin Mary) Kyra of the 17th century which is celebrated on August 23.
Of particular interest is the architecture of the settlement with the white washed houses with the single tiled roofs, the colorful doors and the pebbled courtyards. At the highest point of the village are the ruins of a castle. From that point, the view to the surrounding islands and the volcano is stunning. Nikia is 13 km away from the capital, Mandraki.