Μετάφραση Greek Version


Fri is the heart of the trading activities and administrative functions of Kasos. The small coastal village lies on the north side of the island and is home to the island’s only harbor. It extends around the picturesque port of Bouka where local fishermen moor their colorful fishing boats and drink their coffee in one of the traditional cafes.

The village was founded in 1840 mainly by the  inhabitants of the nearby village of Agia Marina. Its name ("eyebrow" in Greek) is due to the shape of the coastline that resembles to an eyebrow. In Fri is the main port that connects the island with the ports of Piraeus, Crete and the rest of the Dodecanese. It is a beautiful village, with well-preserved stone-built mansions and buildings of special architectural interest. Around Bouka are lined up most of the tavernas and cafes. Nearby is the old port of Emporios with its old stone houses and mansions.

The landmark of Fri, is the imposing church of Agios Spyridonas - the island’s patron saint - with its ornate bell tower and its wooden-carved iconostasis that dates back to the 19th century. The Archaeological Collection of Kassos is housed in the old town hall, a beautiful listed building from the 1900’s. In Fri there is also the Nautical Museum of Kasos, with exhibits from private collections as well as the Municipal Library "Nikolaos G. Mavris" where you can find many information on the history of the island.