Panagia Paraportiani

Photo: © Άγγελος Ζυμαράς

Μετάφραση Greek Version

Panagia Paraportiani

There are dozens of small churches scattered around Mykonos, but the most iconic of all is Panagia Paraportiani. This quaint church is among the most photographed churches in the Aegean, not only because of its asymmetrical shape and unique architecture but due to it actually being five tiny churches, squeezed in one. The four churches (dedicated to Saint Eustathios, Saint Sozon, Saints Anargyroi and Saint Anastasia) are at ground level and constitute the base of the fifth church, Panagia Paraportiani that has been built above them. The oldest of the four is Agii Anargyroi, built in the late 14th century. Construction of the Panagia Paraportiani church started in 1475 and completed in the 17th century. The other three churches were built in the 16th and 17th century and by 1920 underwent several renovations.

The church is situated in the neighborhood of Kastro, in the town of Chora and its name literally means "Our Lady of the Side Gate" in Greek, as its entrance was found in the side gate of the entrance to the castle.


Photo: Άγγελος Ζυμαράς