Agios Georgios of the Mountain
It takes 401 steps to reach this fascinating site that resembles a fortress and hosts a catacomb, among other interesting buildings. Built on a hilltop above the village of Kastelorizo, the monastery complex includes a Katholikon (major church), cells and auxiliary rooms, and has a very beautiful courtyard decorated with pebbles. The church is a one-room domed cruciform basilica, built on the site of an Early Christian Basilica. The mosaic floor and some capitals of the ancient Basilica are still preserved.
According to an engraved inscription, it was renovated in 1759 by Anthimos from the island of Kefalonia. Under the church, there is an underground carved crypt, dedicated to Agios Charalambos. Apart from the cultural and historical value, the site offers breathtaking views and rural scenery for photographers. The Monastery was restored in 2010 by the 4th Ephorate of Byzantine Antiquities and the Ministry of Culture. The restoration entailed mainly the reconstruction of the cells that had collapsed and the maintenance of the interior décor of the Katholikon. Now, the entire monumental monastic complex has been fully restored and is open to the public.