Prodromos

Μετάφραση Greek Version

Prodromos

Prodromos is a picturesque, traditional settlement of Paros, located on the east side of the island, about 16 kilometers from Parikia. The area where the village is located is purely rural, with many orchards, streams and livestock production, mainly cattle. Its initial name was Dragoulas, but in 1953 took its current name from the church of Agios Ioannis Prodromos, built in the village at that time. The church celebrates on June 23, day on which one of the most important festivals of the island takes place.

At the entrance of the village is the church of Agios Spyridon which is connected by an arch with the church of Agios Nikolaos. The arch with the bell tower above it, prevents the entry of vehicles in the settlement, while it is its main entrance. The whitewashed houses with the courtyards full of flowers, the alleys with arches and the traditional coffee shops with the traditional home-made delicacies give a unique color to the village.

The village is crossed by the Byzantine path with the ancient marble slabs that connected the village of Marpissa with Lefkes in the old days. The marble path, over 1000 years old which runs 3.5 kilometers parallel to the modern road, is drowned in olive groves and vineyards and is one of the village's main attractions. From Prodromos the nearest beaches are Molos, Kalogeros and the beach in Tsoukalia.