Emporios is a picturesque, preserved, semi-mountainous village on the island of Nisyros, located 8 km southeast of Mandraki, the capital of the island. It is mostly abandoned mainly due to the migration caused by the earthquake of 1933. The village is built on the rim of the caldera in the center of the island. It has been declared a site of special architectural value and is protected by both the Ministry of Culture and the Ministry of Environment, while the medieval castle has been declared a historic monument.
The village extends around the abandoned castle of Pantoniki located at the top of the hill. Inside the castle of the Knights of the order of Rhodes, stands the Byzantine church of Taxiarchis Michael of the 13th century, with the carved wooden iconostasis and the interesting frescoes. The village retains its local architecture with narrow streets, arches and stone houses built close to each other. Most of the houses have flat roof tops to collect rainwater in cisterns. Through the walls of the remaining houses still spurt some hot gass the so called "Apiries". In the village square is the church while at the entrance of the village is a cave which due to the heat, from the volcanic activity, is considered a natural sauna. It is a village that fascinates the visitor with the view of the volcano’s caldera, the charm and the beauty it offers.
Its geographical location and the easy access to the volcano make Emporio the perfect base for exploring the rest of the island.