Falatados is a traditional, mountainous village with several elements of local architecture. White washed houses with pebbled courtyards, cobbled alleys and picturesque arches compose the image of the beautiful village. It is rested between the island's two highest mountains, Exomvourgo and Tsiknias, 11 km away from the town of Tinos and is the second largest village on the island, after Pyrgos. The name of the village may come from the Valata family (Vlata) or according to another version by the guards who supervised the area (falaka = fortress, observatory). Reference to this village can be found, dating from early 15th century, without ruling out that it could have been built a few centuries earlier.
The inhabitants of the village are mainly engaged in agricultural crops and livestock. In the past it was famous for a variety of handcraft production such as for tannery and dyeing silk. The abandoned buildings of the old handicrafts can be found in the area called Gnafaria. The village is also known for its raki and in the village there are many presses and distilleries. Every year, in September a big festival "Razikio" takes place in Falatados with plenty of raki.
In the center of the village is the cathedral of St. John / Holy Trinity with its pebbled courtyard, built in 1901. It is one of the most majestic and imposing churches on the island with a 18m dome, icons of the17th century and rich decoration. In the village there is a Folklore Museum and the House of Sketch of the Mitropoulos brothers, housed in the old primary school.