The Islet of Panagia

Μετάφραση Greek Version

The Islet of Panagia

The islet of Panagia is a beautiful, green island located just in front of the harbor of Parga and is a popular attraction. The island is named after the small church with the picturesque bell tower that is built on the outskirts of the castle. A large celebration takes place every 15th of August when the Greek Orthodox Church celebrates the Dormition of the Virgin.  

The castle, at the highest point of the island, was built in 1808 by the French during their stay (1797- 1814) in the wider area, in order to control part of the bay of Parga that was not easy to control from the large Venetian castle of the city. Above the stone door, next to the powder keg, there is the inscription: Défense de la Patrie Α.D. 1808. From the castle today saves, the yard, the gate and the fortress.

The island of Panagia gives a strong picturesqueness to Parga. Many couples choose the church and the island for their weddings with the bride arriving at the fairytale island on a boat. At night the image is even more enchanting since the illuminated island magnetizes the eyes. Visitors can go to the island either by boat or by swimming (about 15 minutes).