Dilofo

Μετάφραση Greek Version

Dilofo

Dilofo, situated in the surroundings of Central Zagori 31 km away from the city of Ioannina, is a traditional, picturesque village, which has stayed untouched through the years. The village is built at an altitude of 1,000 meters on the slopes of mountain Tymfi. It is one of the most beautiful and best-preserved villages in Zagori. Its few inhabitants are engaged in livestock and tourism.

Dilofo is a traditional settlement without any contemporary interventions, thus motor vehicles are prohibited. This has as a result the village to maintain its traditional authentic character. Due to its characterization as a preservable settlement, only restorations and reconstructions of old buildings are allowed. Up until 1920 it was named “Sopotseli”, translated from the Slavic, meaning “place with ample water”. After it took the name Dilofo (Two Hills) from its position between two hills. It is a typical example of Zagorian architecture, as all the buildings are made of local slate.

Stone built laneways, with huge stone walls that hide the courtyards of the houses from the eyes of the passers-by, lead to the top of the hill, from where the view to the village, the beautiful nature that surrounds it with the green slopes but also the imposing mountains of Tymfi and Mitsikeli is really stunning.

From the main Square (Mesochori) with the huge plane tree, three paved cobbled streets begin their route, leading to the three districts, Pano Mahalas, Kato Mahalas and Pera Mahalas. Apart from the church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary (1850) there are many smaller chapels and monasteries such as those of Agia Paraskevi, Panagia Sotiros and Taxiarchon. In Mesochori there is the imposing building of the Anagnostopouleios School.

At the entrance of the village is the tallest mansion in Zagori. The first floor has a height of 13.5m. It is built of chipped stone and it has nice views of the surrounding villages and mountains, especially towards Koukouli. Not without reason. Tradition says that once a woman from Koukouli married a rich man from Dilofo and came to live here, but she felt intense nostalgia for her village. Therefore, her husband built the house so high that she could see her village from her windows. The house was built in the middle of the 19th century by G. Makropoulos, who was a merchant in Asia Minor.

The settlement dates back to 540, when the Slavs invaded Epirus and the inhabitants of Pitournio moved to the area where the village is today. Later, the inhabitants of another nearby village with the name Zlarovo moved to Sopotseli, probably in 1583.

Access to the village is very easy as long as you are careful with the signs that will lead you to it since, the village is not on the road.

 

Sights
 
1. The Makropoulos Mansion
2. The Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary
3. The Anagnostopoulios School

View
Mill Bridge Mill Bridge

Stone Bridges

Bridge of Misios Bridge of Misios

Stone Bridges

Bridge of Petsionis Bridge of Petsionis

Stone Bridges