Bridge of Vovousa
The bridge spans over the Aoos river in the heart of the Vovousa village. It is close to the main square and is one of the largest single-arched bridges in Zagori. The bridge had a stone parapet on both sides which was replaced with a wooden protective railing in 1936, making it the only one in Zagori with this feature. It was built with money donated by Alexios Missios from the village of Monodendri. After the construction, his descendants undertook its maintenance for many decades. At the same time, Alexis Missios made one more donation for the construction of a second bridge in Zagori which is located at the entrance of the Vikos gorge, and bears his name. The bridge in Vovousa used to serve both the villagers in their daily travels, as well as those who wanted to go from Zagori to Western Macedonia. In the old days there were four inns on both sides of the bridge. Today the iconic bridge is the landmark of the village and one of its main attractions.