Μετάφραση

Bridge of Konitsa

The stone bridge of Konitsa is the second largest single-arch bridge in Epirus. The bridge was designed and constructed by Ziogas Frontzos from the village of Pyrsogianni, in 1870. It is located near the town of Konitsa in northwestern Greece, not far from the Albanian border. The location where it is found is captivating with the Aoos river flowing under its arch and the impressing Aoos gorge to stand behind it.

The charming single-arched bridge is 20m high and 35m in length, which could quite well make it the largest single arch bridge in the Balkans. It still preserves under its arch the bell that warned for the powerful winds that rendered the crossing dangerous. Although narrow, is wide enough for pedestrians and livestock to pass from one side to the other.

In the same place, Dimitrios Liabeis together with other residents of Konitsa built a wooden bridge in 1823, which collapsed in 1833. The same year, Panagiotis Skoubourdis and Vassilios Masios rebuilt the wooden bridge, but it also fell a few years later. So, in 1870 it was decided to build a stone bridge.  When the Turkish Army left Konitsa, it attempted to blow it up, but they did not succeed. The elegant bridge managed to survive and to be one of the area's main attractions nowadays.

It is located south of Konitsa and is easy to walk to from the town center.